Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

21 Transformational Leaders To Be Honored At Dean’s Roundtable

21 Transformational Leaders To Be Honored At Dean’s Roundtable
May 1, 2018 SEHD Communications

21 Transformational Leaders To Be Honored At Dean’s Roundtable

The College of Education and Human Development at Texas A&M University will honor 21 transformational leaders at the 2018 Dean’s Roundtable to be held on Friday, May 4th at the Hildebrand Equine Complex in College Station, Texas.

Former Texas A&M head football coach and current special advisor to the TAMU president, R. C. Slocum will deliver the keynote address. Slocum is known not only for his team’s success on the field, but also for the way he cared about his players and instilled life lessons such has handling adversity, responding in a positive manner, and never quitting.

For the past 26 years, members of the Dean’s Roundtable have sought to elevate the work of those unsung heroes who through dedicated leadership and service to others, transform lives and enrich our world. Since 1991, benefactors have honored over 550 individuals who have been role models to their students and/or peers, mentors for new professionals, and servant leaders in their communities. They have raised over $450,000 in support of scholarships, programs, and college initiatives.

“Dean’s Roundtable sponsors select representatives who model the ideals we hope all our graduates will emulate,” stated CEHD Dean Joyce M. Alexander. “This year, as always, our benefactors have chosen to honor a distinguished group of professionals who share our vision of transforming lives.”

The 2018 Dean’s Roundtable honorees include superintendents, administrators, classroom teachers, professors, and those professionals who have devoted their careers to helping others. They include:

  • Dr. Wanda Bamberg, Superintendent. Aldine ISD, Houston, Texas
  • Dana Ballard Carter ’85, Secondary Math Teacher, Victoria East High School, Victoria, Texas
  • Sheridan Clinkscales, Agriculture Science Teacher, College Station High School, College Station, Texas
  • Scott Corrick, Director of Human Resources for High Schools, Aldine ISD, Houston, Texas
  • Johnathon R. (Bert) Dodd, Clinical Professor, Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, College Station, Texas
  • Mandy Louise Gallego, Math and Science Teacher, Bowen Elementary, Bryan ISD, Bryan, Texas
  • Javier Joel Garza, Principal, Keller Elementary, Brownsville ISD, Brownsville, Texas
  • Dr. Jo Beth Hawkins, Psychologist, Private Practice, Houston, Texas
  • Bob Herndon, Director of Development and Operations, Stilwell Retirement Residence, Waco, Texas
  • Dr. Dayanna V. Kelly, Principal, McShan Elementary, Dallas ISD, Dallas, Texas
  • Beth Jez Lawrence, Head of School, St. Thomas Early Learning Center, College Station, Texas
  • Elena Martinez-Buley, Principal, Sylvan Rodriguez Elementary, Houston ISD, Houston, Texas
  • Barbara McCreary, Secondary Math Teacher, Malakoff High School, Malakoff ISD, Malakoff, Texas
  • Paula J. Miller, Clinical Professor, Health & Kinesiology, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  • Dr. Henry Kasonde Musoma, Assistant Clinical Professor, Mays Business School, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  • Bertha Alicia Peña, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Brownsville ISD, Brownsville, Texas
  • Andrew Persyn, Secondary Math Teacher, Bryan Collegiate High School, Bryan ISD, Bryan, Texas
  • Chris L. Ribardo, History Teacher, College Station Middle School, College Station ISD, College Station, Texas
  • R. C. Slocum, Special Advisor to the President of Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  • Angela Stacks, History Teacher, Glenda Dawson High School, Pearland ISD, Pearland, Texas
  • Dr. Deirdre A. Williams, Author and Consultant, Books by Deirdre, Lockhart, Texas

The College of Education and Human Development is committed to enhancing education and health outcomes for all. By partnering with the college, members of the Dean’s Roundtable make an investment in the future of Texas and the nation. For more information, contact Erin Kleinecke at or 979-845-5355.


To learn more about how you can assist in fundraising, contact Jody Ford ’99, Sr. Director of Development or 979-847-8655

Recent Posts

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact SEHD
Translate »