College of Education and Human Development Statue

Throughout our history we have been charged with transforming and enriching lives through education and health. Created as a school for teachers, we are now a school for leaders.

We offer 21 undergraduate programs and more than 30 graduate programs across multiple emphasis areas.

Educators, sports professionals, business leaders, healthcare professionals. Whatever the industry, our graduates are game-changers. Our graduates transform lives.

See why U.S. News & World Report ranked our programs No. 1

We Teach Texas

For the 2020-2021 school year, the Texas Education Agency reported there were nearly 10,000 Aggies working in Texas schools across 668 districts and 184 counties. Thanks to our excellence in teacher preparation, these Aggies will stay in the classrooms long after their peers.

Become a Teacher Learn about the TAMUS initiative

COVID-19 Updates and Guidance

Our top priority during this time is to ensure the safety of our students, faculty and staff. Review Texas A&M updates and guidance to learn more.

TAMU Updates & Guidance

We will continue to update information as it comes available.

Best Online Master’s

According to U.S. News & World Report (2022)


Education Programs for Veterans


Education Programs


Education Administration & Supervision


Educational/Instructional Media Design


Curriculum & Instruction

Departments in the College of Education & Human Development

Business professionals meeting outside of a cubicle workspace.

EAHR develops educational leaders and improves practice through teaching, research and service.

Educational Psychology Teacher Painting Students

EPSY is home to a variety of interrelated disciplines and degree options focused on human development and well-being in educational and community contexts.


HLKN is the largest academic department at Texas A&M University and generates over 98,000 credit hours and 203,000 (Modified) weighted student credit hours each year.

Teaching learning culture middle grades classroom

TLAC’s mission is to create experiences that advance teaching, research and service through the application of knowledge in the preparation and development of quality educators; placing high value on collaboration, diversity, critical thinking, and creativity.

Staff and Faculty Kudos

If you’ve had a great encounter with a College of Education and Human Development faculty or staff member, tell us about it! Nominate them here.

College Awards Honorees Announced

College Awards Honorees Announced
October 17, 2016 CEHD Communications

College Awards Honorees Announced

A number of outstanding faculty, staff and alumni – including Denver Broncos head coach Gary Kubiak – will be honored at the College of Education and Human Development awards celebration. The celebration will be held at the Hilton College Station and Conference Center on Friday, October 28, 2016.

The Outstanding Alumni Award is the highest honor the college can bestow upon its former students. The award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions in their chosen fields. This year’s honorees include Gary Kubiak ’83, head coach of the Denver Broncos; Tiffany Barfield ’99, director of strategic partnerships at the National Academy Foundation; Dr. Rita Barrera Hernandez ’86, area assistant superintendent of Brownsville ISD; and Kelly Ricks ’92, principal at Katy ISD. Dr. Terry Kidd ’11, dean in the Division of Extended Learning at Houston Community College, is the recipient of the Early Career Award.

David Tofel, assistant director of recruitment in the Office of Admissions and Records at Texas A&M University, will be honored with the John E. Trott, Jr. Award in Student Recruiting.

Jean and Skip Johnson ’52 serve as members of the Dean’s Development Council and will be honored with the Carolyn S. Lohman Advocacy Leadership Award. The award was established with the dual purpose of honoring Lohman, a longtime advocate for the college, and recognizing individuals who make a significant impact on the college through advocacy leadership.

The honorees of the Association of Former Students College-Level Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching are Dr. Radhika Viruru, clinical professor, and Dr. Hersh Waxman, professor, both in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture.

Several faculty and staff will also be honored with Climate Awards at the celebration. This award celebrates individuals who embody the College’s commitment to learn, educate, discover, serve and lead in a culture of diversity. Honorees include Dr. Krystal Cook Simmons, clinical associate professor in the Department of Educational Psychology; Phylicia French, academic advisor; Dr. Luis Ponjuan, associate professor in the Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development; and Cathy Watson, assistant to the department head in the Department of Educational Psychology.

Dr. Jennifer Ganz, professor of special education in the Department of Educational Psychology, will be honored with the Extraordinary Service Award from the Dean’s Development Council. Dr. Matthew Walker, associate professor of sport management in the Department of Health and Kinesiology will be honored with the Outstanding New Faculty Award. Dell Billings ’95, administrative coordinator in the Department of Health and Kinesiology, will receive the Outstanding Staff Award.

About the Writer

Ashley is the Media Relations Coordinator and responsible for news coverage in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture as well as the Department of Educational Psychology.

Articles by Ashley

For media inquiries, contact Ashley Green.


To learn more about how you can assist in fundraising, contact Jody Ford ’99, Sr. Director of Development or 979-847-8655

Recent Posts

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact CEHD
Translate »