Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

Two TLAC faculty named provost award honorees

Two TLAC faculty named provost award honorees
March 25, 2021 SEHD Communications

Two TLAC faculty named provost award honorees

Two faculty in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture are recipients of the 2021 Provost Academic Professional Track Faculty Teaching Excellence Award.

Drs. Radhika Viruru and Sharon Matthews are among 10 selected this year.

“I’ve been teaching at TAMU for almost 25 years now and the last three semesters have definitely been the most challenging due to the global pandemic. As such, I am greatly honored to receive this award. It has been a privilege to walk alongside my students on their journeys particularly when things were so uncertain,” said Viruru. “I deeply appreciate being part of a department, a college and a university where teaching excellence is consistently valued and recognized and look forward to continuing to contribute to the culture of pedagogical innovation here at TAMU.”

“Teaching represents my primary contribution to preparing excellent Aggie educators. Receiving this award is an honor as it represents the recognition of all who teach as an integral effort of meeting our land grant mission,” said Matthews.

The award, established in 2019, encourages, recognizes and rewards faculty who provide students with meaningful learning experiences, embrace effective teaching approaches and value student-centered learning.

Recipients of the award receive a $5,000 cash stipend and hold the award title for life.

You can see a full list of honorees on the Center for Teaching Excellence website.

About the Writer

Ashley is the Media Relations Coordinator and responsible for news coverage in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture as well as the Department of Educational Psychology.

Articles by Ashley

For media inquiries, contact Ashley Green.

Recent Posts

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact SEHD