Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

CEHD Clinical Associate Professor Honored for ‘Teaching Excellence’

CEHD Clinical Associate Professor Honored for ‘Teaching Excellence’
May 9, 2022 Ruben Hidalgo
Dr. Michael A. de Miranda presents Dr. Sharon Matthews with Professorship award letter

CEHD Clinical Associate Professor Honored for ‘Teaching Excellence’

A Clinical Associate Professor in the School of Education and Human Development at Texas A&M University was recognized for her teaching efforts and impact on undergraduate students.

Dr. Sharon Matthews of the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture (TLAC) received a Thamann Professorship in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence. The honor is given to the most distinguished faculty members who have shown uncommon excellence and devotion to educating undergraduate students at Texas A&M.

An announcement of Dr. Matthews’ appointment was made during the 2022 Transformational Teaching and Learning Conference on May 4.

Dr. Michael A. de Miranda, Professor and Interim Dean of the School of Education and Human Development, presented Dr. Matthews with the award letter last month. Soon after, she expressed her joy and gratitude for this appointment.
“I am honored and grateful for Texas A&M’s recognition of my teaching efforts. I attribute my pedagogical growth and impact to all the amazing Aggie teachers and colleagues in the Department of Teaching, Learning, and Culture. I am also endlessly grateful for colleagues across the broader Aggie community, especially those within Center for Teaching Excellence sessions and courses who have modeled, questioned, and challenged me to continuously engage in deep thinking about what it means to be a teacher,” Dr. Matthews said.
She has been with CEHD since 2014, when she began as a Clinical Assistant Professor with TLAC. Her research interests include writing development, disciplinary literacy, and the critical selection and integration of diverse children’s literature.

“Dr. Matthews is committed to being a difference maker for her students and colleagues. This recognition serves as an index of her contributions to TLAC and CEHD. I congratulate her for this prestigious honor and her efforts to uphold the College’s culture of excellence,” Dr. de Miranda said.

Dr. Sharon Matthews receives Professorship Award

The University Professorships in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence last for a three-year period that includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement. The Professorships also come with an annual discretionary bursary of $5,000 to support each recipient’s teaching program and related professional development.

For media inquiries, contact Ruben Hidalgo.

Recent Posts

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact SEHD