Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

School of Education and Human Development

Outstanding Alumni Awards & Gala

2023 Outstanding Alumni Awards Gala

6-9 p.m. Friday, November 10, 2023

Hilton College Station & Conference Center – Oakwood Ballroom

SEHD is now accepting 2023 Outstanding Alumni nominations


Deadline: Friday, September 15, 2023

The Outstanding Alumni Award is the highest honor the School of Education and Human Development (SEHD) can bestow upon its former students. The Texas A&M SEHD is globally recognized for its role in developing leaders across many areas of education and human development who have achieved recognition and distinction. Since 2004, the school has been honoring individuals who have made outstanding contributions in their chosen fields with significant impact, innovation, and influence in the school, in their community and beyond. The Outstanding Alumni Award does more than honor its recipients. It also further illustrates the great value of the academic programs and student involvement at the SEHD at Texas A&M and increases the pride all former students, students, staff, and faculty have for the University and our school. The award program recognizes those men and women who demonstrate the power of the Aggie experience to the people of Texas, the nation, and the world.


  • 2022

    Dr. Archie L. Blanson '05

    Dr. William A. Jasper '97

    Dr. Gena L. Jerkins '95

    Dr. Brooke Kandel '09

    Katherine Franklin '14 (Early Career Recipient)

    Jeffrey Yarbrough '12 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2021

    Dr. Miguel Angel Cano '11

    Dr. Andrea Foster '82, '84, '98

    Dr. Dave A.R. Louis '05

    Dr. Emil R. Rodolfa '81

    Captain Derek J. Bull '13 (Early Career Recipient)

    Dr. Geovanny J. Ponce '19 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2020

    None Awarded

  • 2019

    Anthony Donato, Ph.D. '04

    Olga Perez-Garcia Gentry '86

    Tom Glenn '73, '77

    Matt Timmons '00

    Kendra L. Williams-Diehm, Ph.D. '99, '02, '06

    Lt. Cmdr. Josh Swift, Ph.D. '10 (Early Career Recipient)

    Christie Whitbeck, Ph.D. '11 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2018

    Matthew Allen '03

    Jimmy Cheek '69

    Judy Webb LeUnes '76

    Charol Shakeshaft '78

    Daphne Watkins '06

    Rose Mason '12 (Early Career Recipient)

    Edgar J. Villarreal '07 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2017

    Dr. Steven Furney '75

    Don D. Albrecht, Ph.D. '76

    Gayle Bellomy '74

    Henry J. Ostermann '72

    Brandon R. Macias '12 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2016

    Tiffany Barfield '99

    Dr. Rita Barrera Hernandez '86

    Gary Kubiak '83

    Kelly Ricks '92

    Dr. Terry Kidd '11 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2015

    E. Brooks Applegate III '86

    Trevor M. Burt '95

    Meixia Ding '05

    Barbara Teague Polnick '99

    Eun Sook Kim '08 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2014

    John W. Logan '83 (Posthumously Awarded)

    Ronald S. Palomares '83 '92

    Nico P. Pronk '92

    Donald J. Stockton '96

    Matthew Lee Smith '08 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2013

    Bobbie Biggs '76

    William Dee Nichols '95

    Salvador Hector Ochoa '89

    T. Gilmour Reeve '76

    Melanie Sartore-Baldwin '07 (Early Career Recipient)

  • 2012

    Pebbles Fagan '97

    Art Hernandez '87

    Michael Sagas '99 '01

    Maria Shelton '87

  • 2011

    Kevin P. Jackson '00

    June Scobee Rodgers '83

  • 2010

    Carla Chapman Amacher '93 '95

    Xitao Fan '93

    John E. Trott, Jr. '66 '72

    Jennifer L. Milam '01 '08 (Early-Career Recipient)

  • 2009

    Eddie J. Davis '67 '73 '80

    Celia R. Goode-Haddock '72

    Gertrude B. Henry '95

    Deanna F. Yates '91

    Jo Ann Bludau '94

  • 2008

    Peggy Coghlan '76

    Susan J. Simpson '03

    David P. Thompson '84

    Jack Michael Willoughby '67

  • 2007

    Robin L. Hughes '97

    Pamela Rodriguez Juarez '77

    David A. Rubenstein '77

    Emilie A. Naiser '03 (Early Career Award)

  • 2006

    James F. Fales '72

    Deneese L. Jones '88

    Joseph Mitchell '83

  • 2005

    Paul B. Beran '96

    William A. Thomson '79

  • 2004

    Cecil B. Drain '86

    Arno W. Krebs '64

    James E. McMunigal '86


Individuals, living or deceased, meeting the following eligibility requirements, will be considered for recognition:

  1. Graduate of the School of Education and Human Development at Texas A&M University (undergraduate or graduate), as well as graduates under the “previous names” of the school who have made significant contributions to society, and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the legacy of excellence at the SEHD.
  2. Not a previous recipient of the Outstanding Alumni Award or Early Career Alumni Award for a second time.
  3. Individuals may be nominated for the Early Career Alumni Award – a graduate that has earned his/her degree within the past three to seven years and meets the award criteria listed below. Those that win the Early Career Alumni Award are eligible to receive the Outstanding Alumni Award once they have completed seven years post-graduation from the SEHD.


The school will recognize/honor its graduates who contribute to Texas and the nation based upon consideration of one or both of the following criteria:

  1. Evidence of outstanding contributions or leadership within their chosen fields across their community, state and the nation through professional service, public service and/or civic activities
  2. Provides extraordinary support for the benefit of the school
  3. Recipients maybe accomplished in the three distinct areas as outlined below. This distinction will be reflective of Texas A&M University’s core values – Excellence, Integrity, Leadership, Loyalty, Respect and Selfless Service. The three areas are:
        1. Professional Achievement and Career or Military Service Distinction: The recipient attained prominence through his or her efforts in commerce, industry, technology, the professions, agriculture, the arts, education, government, military, or other worthy endeavors that form a record of accomplishment impressive to the citizens of Texas and the nation.
        2. Service to Society: The recipient exhibits integrity and a demonstrated commitment to service through an interest in bettering the lives of others through volunteer efforts.
        3. Service and Support to SEHD and Texas A&M University: The recipient’s deeds and actions reflect the importance of his or her educational training, pride in alma mater and loyalty to SEHD and Texas A&M, as demonstrated through their interest in and support of the SEHD, the University, and their programs.

Nomination Packet Requirements

Nomination Packet Requirements

Nominations packets are reviewed annually, and honorees are selected by a committee. The nominator must provide all materials pertinent to the nomination. The complete nomination file is limited to 12 pages.


The following items are required:

  1. Nomination form:
  2. CV/Resume (three-four pages preferably) to include:
    1. Nominee’s education (degrees, honorary degrees, names of institutions, year conferred)
    2. Nominee’s awards (professional, community, business, )
    3. Nominee’s accomplishments and contributions
  3. Statement of Nominee’s “Transformational Moments” throughout their career
  4. One nomination letter (two-page limit)
  5. Two letters of support (two-page limit per letter)
  6. Nominees may include newspaper and magazine articles, personal stories, awards or certificates of achievement, or other items of interest.


For more information, please contact:

Wendy Kreider

Hard Copy Nomination Packets can be sent to:

Wendy Kreider
Texas A&M University
School of Education and Human Development / Dean’s Office
802F Harrington Tower / 4222 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-4222

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact SEHD
Translate »