Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

CEHD Graduate, 11 Others Selected As 2016 Distinguished Alumni

CEHD Graduate, 11 Others Selected As 2016 Distinguished Alumni
May 10, 2016 SEHD Communications

CEHD Graduate, 11 Others Selected As 2016 Distinguished Alumni

Twelve Aggies have been selected as the 2016 recipients of the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University, the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students are proud to welcome as Distinguished Alumni:

Dr. Jarvis E. Miller ’50 of Bryan
Dr. Charley V. Wootan ’50, posthumously awarded
Dr. Charles W. Graham ’53 of Elgin
Dr. Robert L. Walker ’58 of College Station
David G. Eller ’59 of Houston
Dr. William M. Barnes ’64 of San Antonio
Patrick K. Gamble, General USAF (Ret.) ’67 of Hemphill
Otway B. Denny, Jr. ’71 of Bryan
Van H. Taylor ’71 of Bryan
Ray A. Rothrock ’77 of Portola Valley, Calif.
Dr. Susan Rudd Bailey ’78 of Fort Worth
Cynthia B. Taylor ’84 of Houston

Since the inception of the award in 1962, only 261 of Texas A&M’s 440,000 former students have been recognized with the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Awarded jointly by the university and The Association, this award recognizes those Aggies who have achieved excellence in their chosen professions and made meaningful contributions to Texas A&M University and their local communities.

“Texas A&M’s 2016 Distinguished Alumni demonstrate the broad reach and influence of Texas A&M,” said Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young. “This group includes fearless leaders and influencers in the fields of engineering, technology, energy, medicine, veterinary medicine, national defense, finance, education and philanthropy. Their stories truly display the power of a Texas A&M University education.”

The recipients learned of their honor when surprised in their places of business and other locations by a group of university and Association representatives, including Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp ’72, Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young, The Association of Former Students’ 2016 Chair of the Board of Directors Dwain Mayfield ’59, Association President and CEO Porter S. Garner III ’79 and a Ross Volunteer, along with university mascot Reveille IX and her handler.

“Our 2016 Distinguished Alumni are an inspiration to Aggies everywhere,” Mayfield said. “Their varied professional pursuits and far-reaching influences across our Aggie Network are all strongly rooted in our core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service.”

You can read more about the award and the honorees on Texas A&M Today.

About the Writer

Ashley is the Media Relations Coordinator and responsible for news coverage in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture as well as the Department of Educational Psychology.

Articles by Ashley

For media inquiries, contact Ashley Green.


To learn more about how you can assist in fundraising, contact Amy Hurley, Director of Development or 979-847-9455

Recent Posts

Can't find what you are looking for?

Contact SEHD